The Sacred Music Council

The Sacred Music Council is a department of the Eastern Diocese which promotes and teaches the Sacred Music of the Armenian Church to the parish choirs in the Eastern Diocesan jurisdiction.

The council members are appointed by the Primate with the advice and consent of the Diocesan Council to serve for a two or three-year term, after which they may be reassigned by the Primate for as long as they are needed. 

Mission Statement of the Sacred Music Council

The goal of the Sacred Music Council is to assist and support all the parishes of the Eastern Diocese of the Armenian Church in conducting the proper musical celebration of the Divine Liturgy (Soorp Badarak) and other services as approved by the Primate.  This goal will be achieved through the SMC's Regional Workshops for choir members and leaders, organists and altar servers, promoting Junior Choirs, the Youth Choir Leadership Program and any other initiative as needed.

The Current Council Members:
His Eminence Archbishop Khajag Barsamian, President
V. Rev. Fr. Simeon Odabashian, Diocesan Vicar
Rev. Fr. Hovhan Khoja-Eynatyan, Chairman
Very Rev. Fr. Mamigon Kiledjian
Very  Rev. Fr. Daniel Findikyan
Rev. Fr. Gomidas Zohrabian
Maestro Khoren Mekenejian
Deacon Gregory Krikorian
Kris Kalfayan
Nanette Anoush Givelekian