Diocesan Council

The Diocesan Council

Under the presidency of the Primate, the Diocesan Council consists of 11 members—four clergymen and seven laymen—elected by the Diocesan Assembly. The Council convenes once every month, typically at the Diocesan headquarters in New York.

The Diocesan Council supervises the parochial institutions and organizations of the Diocese and the activities of its officers. Jointly with the Primate, the Council examines and renders decisions on matters relative to the establishment of churches, educational and charitable institutions, and organizations within the Diocese.

The Council also approves proposals for the establishment of new church communities or parishes, or other church or community organizations.

Additionally, the Council is responsible for preparing and presenting an annual operating budget to the Diocesan Assembly.

Diocesan Council Officers
President: Archbishop Khajag Barsamian
Chair: James Kalustian
Vice Chair: Rev. Fr. Krikor Sabounjian
Secretary: Richard Norsigian
Assistant Secretary: Thomas Ashbahian
Treasurer: Rose Ann Manoogian Attar
Assistant Treasurer: Paul Mardoian


Very Rev. Fr. Aren Jebejian
Rev. Fr. Aved Terzian
Rev. Fr. Vasken Kouzouian
Antranig Garibian
Zaven Tachdjian